Posted by: Rinchen | July 12, 2007

My story till date

Funnily enough, I was not much into Nepali music, per se, until a few years back. There was this phase – as I remember it – when more often than not, Nepali music was heavily laced with foreign ‘accents’ which I found most unbearable. No offence meant, this is just what I inferred back then.

Then about four years back, a few good friends of mine introduced me to 1974 AD. I’ve been a big fan of theirs and have watched them perform LIVE here in gangtok twice. Around the same time, I heard a superb band play Nepathya’s song ‘Resham’ at Glenary’s, Darjeeling. There’s been no looking back since.

The last time I came across their previous album, ‘Bhera Ko Oon Jasto’ at a friend’s place, I borrowed the tape and listened to it for a month. The obsession continues as I hunt around for more of their music till date.

Only problem is that I havent found Nepathya’s albums – either old or new – in Gangtok. It could also be that I’m not searching carefully enough but I’m really disappointed not finding their music here…

Another problem is Nepathya not performing in a long time here in Sikkim. I dont know if they’ve performed here before but I havent caught their show even once and thats a real let-down. I wish they would perform here which will indeed be a dream come true.

I would love to read more about how the band started and the journey they have made till date. If anyone has some kind of info regarding this, please do write in. It’ll be great to read more about them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

